Who Am I…?

We don’t alwayWho Am I...?s see ourselves the way God sees us. Sometimes, all we see is our flaws or worse the image of who we once were is still etched in our psyche.  And we think, “who am I that God would want to use me?”   Interestingly enough, even with a blatant disregard for anything holy, we can’t thwart God’s purpose. Just ask Jonah or Paul. Or peek in Romans at “and we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”

I’m not saying that we should live anything less than holy lives because the Word reminds us gently that if we’re “without chastisement we’re bastards and not sons” – but I digress, that’s a whole different blog. What I’m really getting at is that no matter how messed up we think we are God can and WILL use us. I did say us because sometimes I suffer from whoamitis myself.  “I haven’t been in the church as long as Sister Mavis and I know I’m not as saved as Sister Cant Mash Ants.” What does that even mean anyway?

Today, I had the distinct pleasure of listening to Pastor Fessal expound on the lineage of Jesus. Though I didn’t need another reason to thank God, I was reminded of yet another and couldn’t help but say “God I thankkkkkk you, thank you that you look beyond my faults and see me!”  I’m guilty of running all me ‘begats’ into a blur even five seconds after reading them I can’t remember who begat who. Today, my Bible has the markings of my deliberate ponderings.

Thamar the prostitute, Rahab the harlot, Ruth the outcast, and Mary the virgin all make up the lineage of the King of Kings.  Can you imagine prostitute being used in the same breath as virgin? God can! God doesn’t care what we’ve done or where we came from. He just says give me your heart and His blood covers it all! The moment we said Lord here I am save me we became heirs “and if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ.”   I don’t know about you but I just shouted gloraayyyy!

Pastor Fessal reminded us that “God’s justice triumphs over gender, our willfulness, racial prejudice, and geographical disposition.” That’s my big great God. So the next time you dare ask yourself who am I? Look yourself square in the eye and answer; I AM a child of the King!

What’s made you say who am I?

Leave a Reply

